check

Successfully processed subscription

info

FAILED TO AUTHORIZE CREDIT CARD. TRY A DIFFERENT CARD OR CHECK YOUR CARD DETAILS.

Dog Smart Atlanta

5.0

71 reviews

Business Hours

Sunday

Closed

Monday

10:00 AM - 07:00 PM

Tuesday

10:00 AM - 07:00 PM

Wednesday

10:00 AM - 07:00 PM

Thursday

10:00 AM - 07:00 PM

Friday

10:00 AM - 05:00 PM

Saturday

10:00 AM - 05:00 PM

TrueReview for your business

Are you a small business owner? Generate more 5-star reviews with TrueReview.

Reviews (71)

Vanesa Avdic

on Google

05.23.24

I adopted Ashe from a shelter thinking that an adult dog would already be semi-trained. I was WRONG. I now had an adult dog with all of the not-so-fun puppy behaviors, so I immediately looked for trainers and came across Dog Smart Atlanta. Sonja’s goal is to “train” owners on how to train their dogs. She was great at helping us teach Ashe some obedience commands!!

Response from the owner

about 1 month ago

Thanks! Great working with you.

Christopher Matthews

on Google

05.21.24

We hired Sonja for help setting good behavior foundations for our purebred Boxer puppy, Otis. We were struggling with leash control particularly around other dogs. Sonja showed us best practices for keeping Otis’ attention on us instead of distractions we encounter on walks. Otis’ leash behavior is still a work in progress but we understand an overall behavior change is a process and not achieved overnight. We are thankful for Sonja’s extensive knowledge and her thoroughness in each session. She continues to follow up and has made herself available to answer any questions we may have in the future. We highly recommend Sonja!

Response from the owner

about 1 month ago

Thank you 😊 I look forward to doing a follow-up session with him after he is neutered.

05.09.24

Best in the business!! Sonja has done an excellent job at behavior modification dog training. I would recommend her to anyone!

Response from the owner

about 1 month ago

Thank you so much for your continued support. ❤️

Kelly Edwards

on Google

04.20.24

We have been working with Sonya since 2006 with our dog Littleman and again in 2023/24 with our 2 dogs nugget and biscuit! She has trained all 3 of our dogs amazingly. She is the BEST of thr BEST! We highly recommend her!

Response from the owner

about 1 month ago

Thank you for allowing me to be part of your family. 😀

Tammy Allen

on Google

01.17.24

Sonja was a great help to us. I was at my wits end. Thank you so much

Response from the owner

5 months ago

Thanks Tammy. Can't wait to see what the DNA test shows about his breed.

Jenna G.

on Google

09.20.23

Sonya is a dog whisperer. She really understands and has so much knowledge about dogs. She also cares very deeply to speak for them and make sure they’re heard, but knows how to train each pup correctly and efficiently that works for everyone. Sonya is dependable and we really enjoy working with her! 😊

Response from the owner

9 months ago

Thanks Jenna, looking forward to seeing you guys again real soon.

Olivia Camille

on Google

09.16.23

Response from the owner

9 months ago

Thanks Olivia, Great talking to you today. Call anytime if you have more questions.

Anqi Huang

on Google

08.23.23

Sonja is the best! She is so patient and addresses my concerns with my dogs! She’s a life saver and I couldn’t recommend her more!

Response from the owner

10 months ago

Thanks 😊 Don't forget that you get Lifetime Suport. Contact me antime.

Kristina Bernhard

on Google

08.08.23

I can’t recommend Sonja enough! She did wonders with my 2 year old Aussiedoodle and truly helped to transform my relationship with my dog. The amount of patience she showed in getting to understand my dog’s temperament, quirks, and personality was extremely appreciated, and she was able to tailor our training to work with him in a positive way. She was also willing to be hands on with all members of my family. My parents have made multiple comments about how their relationship with my dog has improved as well. The biggest thing I want to stress is how much Sonja cares about her clients, their animals, and her line of work. She is SO knowledgeable and truly goes the extra mile to support you and ensure you and your dog will be successful. There are many times I reached out to her outside of a session to discuss a situation, and Sonja was always there. Regardless of the life stage of your dog, partnering with Sonja is 💯worth it. I am so thankful to have worked with her.

Response from the owner

11 months ago

It has been a pleasure working with you and Mr Winston. I look forward to seeing you guys again for his follow-up.

Debbie Ulmer

on Facebook

07.27.23

Sonja is amazing! Two years after losing our 15 year old pup we decided to get a new puppy.We obviously forgot what puppies were like and our little girl was a handful. I had tried a training course at the pet store which did nothing but leave me frustrated. I told my vet about my frustration and asked if he knew any trainers and he suggested I give Sonja a call. She had worked with several of his clients as well as one of his techs. I later found out she also worked with two of my neighbors. From my first phone call I could tell this was worth a try. She listened to me and was honest in letting me know when my expectations were too high for a 3 month old puppy. Once she came for the eval I was sold. I could tell she was knowledgable and passionate the way she interacted with Ellie. She has worked with Ellie as she has developed month to month but more importantly she worked with me in understanding my puppy and our relationship. She has helped me see the light at the end of the tunnel as we continue to work through this puppy stage. Sonja talks about your goals and what is needed to reach them . I wanted to be able to take Ellie out in public so we did training at the park and a shopping area . Sonja gave me the tools so that I have the confidence when I go out with Ellie. Another important thing is that Sonja is available even after the training when I have questions always checking to see how things are going. I would not hesitate to recommend Sonja to anyone who is serious about making your dog the best they can be. I am forever thankful that I met her.

Juliana Acosta

on Google

06.19.23

Sonia is Awesome. She helped me 5 years ago with my little Westie with training her and once again she is helping me with my new puppy in housebreaking and discipline. I will recommend her over and over again. Thank you Sonia

Response from the owner

about 1 year ago

Always a pleasure working with you! Thanks

T

Trish Bradley

on TrueReview

05.27.23

We had a rescue puppy in need of basic training. Sonja McBerry set us up on a weekly schedule to teach and then reinforce what we needed our puppy to do -- and not do. It worked so well, and so fast! We love that the training was done in our home and not in a setting that we wouldn't normally go to. Also, until she had her full vaccines and flea/tick prevention, keeping her out of a setting with a lot of other dogs was important to us. We would recommend her wholeheartedly!

S

Suzanne Swann

on TrueReview

05.26.23

I highly recommend Sonja with DogSmart Atlanta! I reached out to her after my dog Grace attacked my senior chihuahua Darcy and I was afraid to leave them alone together. She identified that Grace had issues with anxiety and lack of confidence. Sonja is easy to work with and will tailor her training to your unique situation by asking lots of questions. She also offers feedback in a kind way and is patient with both dog and human! I’ve made adjustments to my own behaviors to improve Grace’s anxiety using tips and tools Sonja provided. It’s a work in progress and I’m glad to know that Sonja is available to answer questions in the future

A

Adele Crooks

on TrueReview

05.21.23

Sonja is the best. She helped us to turn our overly excitable puppy into a calmer one. He is still a work in progress, but fortunately Sonja offers follow up phone calls if we have questions in the future. The secret to her success, in my opinion, is that she very patiently trained us to follow through between sessions. Also of value is the folder with notes of what we practiced each meeting and printouts of Sonja’s training techniques.

Debbie Redling

on Google

05.21.23

Sonja is amazing! Two years after losing our 15 year old pup we decided to get a new puppy.We obviously forgot what puppies were like and our little girl was a handful. I had tried a training course at the pet store which did nothing but leave me frustrated. I told my vet about my frustration and asked if he knew any trainers and he suggested I give Sonja a call. She had worked with several of his clients as well as one of his techs. I later found out she also worked with two of my neighbors. From my first phone call I could tell this was worth a try. She listened to me and was honest in letting me know when my expectations were too high for a 3 month old puppy. Once she came for the eval I was sold. I could tell she was knowledgable and passionate the way she interacted with Ellie. She has worked with Ellie as she has developed month to month but more importantly she worked with me in understanding my puppy and our relationship. She has helped me see the light at the end of the tunnel as we continue to work through this puppy stage. Sonja talks about your goals and what is needed to reach them . I wanted to be able to take Ellie out in public so we did training at the park and a shopping area . Sonja gave me the tools so that I have the confidence when I go out with Ellie. Another important thing is that Sonja is available even after the training when I have questions always checking to see how things are going. I would not hesitate to recommend Sonja to anyone who is serious about making your dog the best they can be. I am forever thankful that I met her.

Response from the owner

about 1 year ago

Thank you so much for your kind words. It has been a pleasure working with you and Ms Ellie 😊.

D

Debbie Redling

on TrueReview

05.20.23

Sonja is amazing! Two years after losing our 15 year old pup we decided to get a new puppy.We obviously forgot what puppies were like and our little girl was a handful. I had tried a training course at the pet store which did nothing but leave me frustrated. I told my vet about my frustration and asked if he knew any trainers and he suggested I give Sonja a call. She had worked with several of his clients as well as one of his techs. I later found out she also worked with two of my neighbors. From my first phone call I could tell this was worth a try. She listened to me and was honest in letting me know when my expectations were too high for a 3 month old puppy. Once she came for the eval I was sold. I could tell she was knowledgable and passionate the way she interacted with Ellie. She has worked with Ellie as she has developed month to month but more importantly she worked with me in understanding my puppy and our relationship. She has helped me see the light at the end of the tunnel as we continue to work through this puppy stage. Sonja talks about your goals and what is needed to reach them . I wanted to be able to take Ellie out in public so we did training at the park and a shopping area . Sonja gave me the tools so that I have the confidence when I go out with Ellie. Another important thing is that Sonja is available even after the training when I have questions always checking to see how things are going. I would not hesitate to recommend Sonja to anyone who is serious about making your dog the best they can be. I am forever thankful that I met her.

Caitlin Brainard

on Facebook

11.20.22

Sonja is a gem to say the least. Meeting someone so passionate, knowledgeable and kind is hard to come by. She helped me and my family learn key insights to help not only our dog, Lola; but our entire extended family as well. Sonja will meet you where you are at both physical location and mentally where you are at. Her comprehensive program includes understanding training theory as well as physical reps to reinforce her methodology; her program even goes as far as a journal for her clients to keep with helpful tips, tricks and reminders to help humans but more importantly help our dog live a more calm, stress-free life. I knew Sonja was a keeper from our first phone consultation where she spoke to me not as a sales pitch, but a human who genuinely wanted to help me and my situation. She helped me understand my dog better and for that, I am forever grateful. I would recommend Sonja to everyone whether it is just for simple commands or for behavioral reconstruction. Sonja and her experience spell out the reason she is one of the most successful trainers in Atlanta. Yet still never losing that personal touch. My dog, Lola, is a much happier, calmer and obedient dog because of Sonja; this is also supported by friends, family and those living near to us. If you want a wholesome, honest, real dog consultant, Sonja is your person to call!

Caitlin Brainard

on Google

11.20.22

Sonja is a gem to say the least. Meeting someone so passionate, knowledgeable and kind is hard to come by. She helped me and my family learn key insights to help not only our dog, Lola; but our entire extended family as well. Sonja will meet you where you are at both physical location and mentally where you are at. Her comprehensive program includes understanding training theory as well as physical reps to reinforce her methodology; her program even goes as far as a journal for her clients to keep with helpful tips, tricks and reminders to help humans but more importantly help our dog live a more calm, stress-free life. I knew Sonja was a keeper from our first phone consultation where she spoke to me not as a sales pitch, but a human who genuinely wanted to help me and my situation. She helped me understand my dog better and for that, I am forever grateful. I would recommend Sonja to everyone whether it is just for simple commands or for behavioral reconstruction. Sonja and her experience spell out the reason she is one of the most successful trainers in Atlanta. Yet still never losing that personal touch. My dog, Lola, is a much happier, calmer and obedient dog because of Sonja; this is also supported by friends, family and those living near to us. If you want a wholesome, honest, real dog consultant, Sonja is your person to call!

Response from the owner

over 1 year ago

It was a pleasure working with you. Thank you for your kind words.

Megan May

on Google

08.06.22

Life changing experience. I couldn’t walk far with my small chihuahua who is terrified of all things that move, surprisingly after 4 weeks there has already been a DRASTIC improvement with barking on the leash at dogs, humans, and cars. I’m able to walk now without stress. Sonja is very friendly and personable and easy to work with!

Response from the owner

almost 2 years ago

Thanks Megan. It has been a pleasure working with you and your dogs. Oh yeah, thanks for the cookies.

Tim Kelley

on Google

08.03.22

Sonja is awesome. Our dog had fear anxiety but warmed up to Sonja on the first visit. Her methods are positive and we’ve seen a lot of improvement with the dog’s behavior. We could not be more pleased.

Response from the owner

almost 2 years ago

Thanks Tim, it has been a pleasure working with you and your dog. I look forward to a follow-up.

Paul Craven

on Google

08.02.22

The finest dog trainer that I have ever had!

Response from the owner

almost 2 years ago

Thanks Paul. It has been a pleasure working with you and Ms Tassie. Can't wait for our Saturday night follow up.

Alicia Holt-Brown

on Facebook

07.10.22

Sonja McBerry is an amazing dog trainer. I have worked with her before and highly recommend Sonja for any dog training needs a new dog owner may need.

Nicole Cacal

on Facebook

07.06.22

Sonja is incredibly knowledgeable and really helped my senior dog with his separation anxiety. She trained me just as much as she trained my dog lol. She continues to be a help to this day. Thank you so much, Sonja!

Lisa Nelson

on Google

02.16.22

Response from the owner

over 2 years ago

Thanks, love Ms Cheebee. ❤

Savannah Shoemake

on Google

02.10.22

Absolutely amazing! Our pup after one session is already showing huge improvement! We really appreciate the help and guidance that we get from Sonja.

Response from the owner

over 2 years ago

Can't wait to continue training with Bentley when you move to your new home.

Stephanie Freitag

on Google

01.25.22

I called Sonja for advice on how to help my senior dog. She thoughtfully took 15 minutes to explain to me how to help him and that it was more of a medical issue. I really appreciated how helpful and kind she was. Thank you, Sonja!

Response from the owner

over 2 years ago

Your welcome and good luck.

Paulina Almendaro

on Google

01.03.22

Sonia helped us rebuild our relationship with our with our 110lbs puppy, showed us how to understand his needs and work together with our dog to improve his behavior.

Response from the owner

over 2 years ago

Thank you, it was a pleasure working with you and your family.

Marissa Moss Tinter

on Google

05.08.21

Sonja is great! She connects well with our pup and truly helps make you “dog smart”!

Response from the owner

about 3 years ago

Thanks Marissa! It has been a pleasure working with you and your new puppy. Call anytime for a follow up.

Hayden Bowen

on Google

05.06.21

Sonja is wonderful!!! She previously helped us train a lab puppy, and she is working with us on training our new lab puppy. She has great tips on teaching them so many commands, such as waiting at an open door without running out, going to the bathroom in the same spot, and how to ring a bell when they need to go out. Our new puppy didn’t want to go anywhere near his crate, but after one lesson with Sonja, he is going in on his own. Sonja makes training a new puppy fun through games they enjoy!!

Response from the owner

about 3 years ago

Thanks 😊 Call for a follow-up once he is 6 months old.

Jenna Igoe

on Google

04.14.21

We asked Sonja to address a situation we were having with my 6 yo boxer mix and my dads 2 yo Feist mix. Two female dogs, both insecure were not getting along and we needed help. Sonja was great, explained why the dogs were acting the way they were. Gave us tips and tools to address the situation. She was great with the dogs, they were very receptive to her. I highly recommend her services to anyone looking for a dog trainer.

Response from the owner

about 3 years ago

Thanks Jenna, great working with you. If you ever have questions, just call or text.

Erlyn Cornell

on Google

04.14.21

Sonja was what we needed! Our dog was the crazy pup and she taught us how to properly train him. She's very informative and very knowledgable. No regrets!

Response from the owner

about 3 years ago

Thank you Erlyn, it was a pleasure working with you and your family.

12.30.20

I rescued a 9 month old puppy that had months of bad behavior built up, as well as socializing issues and separation anxiety. Sonja was able to give me key training tools to untrain the bad behavior and retrain her the proper way. Every day is a work in progress and repetition for my dog. I also needed training myself on how to properly introduce her to strangers and how to properly reinforce what she has learned. I have seen a lot of improvement in her over the last couple months since training has started. Sonja takes her time with you during each session and truly cares for the dog she is working with. She is also available for any questions or concerns after the training session which helps if any instances come up in waiting for the next session.

Response from the owner

over 3 years ago

Thanks so much Elyse. So glad to hear that your sweet girl is improving. Stay in touch.

Mj Silver

on Google

11.14.20

A unique approach that combines a proven method with individualized attention to the unique needs of each dog. Money well spent!

Ayesha Patel

on Google

10.15.20

We reached out to Sonja to help us learn the ropes of training our new puppy during quarantine. We had a few basics down, but we needed some help with more complex behavioral traits. She gave us helpful tips that helped our dog learn things like leave it, letting us eat our food in peace, and not biting on the furniture. Hope to continue to work with her well into Lincoln's future!

Response from the owner

over 3 years ago

Thanks for your kind words. I look forward to following up on Lincoln"s training soon.

Cessie Chiles

on Google

09.19.20

Sonja came highly recommended to us by a good friend and she definitely lived up to her glowing reviews! She helped turn our crazy, timid little puppy, Charlie, into a calm, confident and obedient dog and we couldn’t be happier. Highly recommend!

Response from the owner

almost 4 years ago

Hey Cessie, I am so proud of the work that you put into socializing Charlie. It has paid off.

Ashley Fullerton

on Google

09.13.20

Before we met Sonja, we were seriously talking about taking Heidi back to the shelter. She had leash aggression, stranger anxiety, and we had been warned by our vet that we might never be able to have people over to the house, have kids, or have other pets. The first day Sonja came over, Heidi started growling, barking, and lunging at her in the parking lot. Cut to today, at the end of level two, and Heidi tried to jump in Sonja's lap before she got out of the car. She's gained confidence and is much calmer, and has settled into our routine. She loves having people over to the apartment, and we just got back from a trip where we left her with a dogsitter, and every update was, "She's an angel! She's given me no problems at all! Are you sure this is the same dog?" Not only has she learned how to work with us, but we understand better how to work with her. Thank you so much Sonja! We love seeing how much happier our furbaby has become.

Response from the owner

almost 4 years ago

I am truly happy for all of you. I too was concerned about Heidi at our first meeting. Keep up the good work. 😎👍

Erin Ruppel

on Google

07.06.20

Sonja worked with me and my rescue lab mix puppy and I would go back and do it all over again every single time. She taught Emmy the commands but she taught me how to react or not react to dog behaviors too. Sonja always took Emmy’s mood and demeanor into account during our sessions and adjusted her plan to suit myself and my pup.

Response from the owner

almost 4 years ago

Thank you so much Erin. Always a pleasure working with you and Emmy.

Haley Roos

on Google

02.10.20

Sonja is such a perfect mix of firm and patient. She really helped my dog learn what he could and could not do inside our home. In the process, she trained us to be better dog owners. We learned a lot of techniques that we still use with him everyday. She really went above and beyond each session. Highly recommend!!

Response from the owner

over 4 years ago

Thanks Haley, hope that you all are doing well.

Marietta Petters

on Google

02.10.20

Sonja is the BEST! She helped us train our strong willed puppy that was driving us crazy and turn her into the best dog ever. She helped my husband to see the need for consistency. We highly recommend Sonja and her teaching methods.

Response from the owner

over 4 years ago

Thank you Marietta, always a pleasure to work with you and McKenzie.

Tim Steinwedel

on Google

11.25.19

We have a two year old rescue who was extremely shy and was afraid of her own shadow. Without Sonja she would still be that way. Sonja was amazing in teaching us effective ways to bring her out of her shell. She is much more social now and is getting better every day.

Response from the owner

over 4 years ago

Thanks for rescuing her and giving her the patience that she needs.

Daria Abolghasemi

on Google

11.16.19

We called Sonja for help after having brought home our new 3 month old puppy. In the first couple of days we were stressed out but she helped us teach our new puppy to overcome separation anxiety, learn to use her crate, housebreaking, and learn basic commands. It was all done in a simple systematic fashion. She was flexible to adjusting to our crazy schedules which was very helpful. I would recommend I Am Dogsmart to anyone with a new puppy.

Response from the owner

over 4 years ago

Thank you so much for your review. It has been a pleasure working with your new addition Ms Emory.

Becca Brooks

on Google

10.13.19

Sonja was the most terrific trainer we could have asked for. She started training our puppy, Hamilton, at 6 months, when we learned the basics then eventually made our way up to commands like “place.” She helped him overcome some of his anxiety when walking and meeting strangers and with strangers walking by our house. Sonja’s passion for what she does, coupled with her knowledge, structure and confidence allow her to easily command a room and dog at the drop of a hat. She is worth every penny! Sonja taught us and Hamilton skills we will use forever, and we look forward to keeping in touch with her and working with her again in the future!

Response from the owner

over 4 years ago

Thanks Becca, it has been a pleasure working with you and Hamilton. Great picture!

John Pappas

on Google

09.18.19

We had Jagger, our 3 year old German Shepherd trained by the breeder (boot camp) and another excellent trainer help us with Jagger. But it was not until we worked with Sonja, analyzing the behaviors in the house (dog, cat, daughter, mom, me), that we got a much deeper understanding on his motivations and behaviors. But she did so much more. She gave us strategies, to go along with the insights, to work with Jagger and manage him better. I think Jagger is happier too! Dogsmart is absolutely worth your time, money and effort.

Response from the owner

over 4 years ago

Always a great pleasure when it comes to Jagger. What a wonderful dog!

Christine Ledoux

on Google

08.11.19

I contacted Sonja when I adopted my first dog, Callie. She was a huge help. She taught Callie and me good behavior so I was able to have a well mannered dog. When Callie was a bit older she became very reactive to certain dogs. Again, I reached out to Sonja and she worked with us which made a big difference. Within the last year I adopted Olive. She was having some issues so Sonja was able to come to my rescue again with helpful hints and proper training. Sonja is a rock star.

Response from the owner

almost 5 years ago

Thanks so much for your kind words. You are the rock star for rescuing these great dogs.

Corine Powell

on Google

07.06.19

Looking forward too January 2020

Response from the owner

over 4 years ago

Look forward to working with you. You may want to make an appointment now to reserve a spot.

Joshua Dodd

on Google

04.05.19

Dog Smart Atlanta has been excellent in helping us potty train a puppy. Sonya listens to our concerns and helps crafts plans that work for the dog and us.

Response from the owner

about 5 years ago

Thanks guys. It has been a pleasure working with you.

Amy Seidner

on Google

08.26.18

Dog Smart Atlanta helped both of my dogs. The first time Sonja met with me, she listened to what I needed for them, rather than just tell me what she thought they needed. Listening and watching, she got it right away. It is really amazing the difference in my dogs' behavior. I am really impressed and wish I knew about her years ago!

Response from the owner

over 4 years ago

I try to see everything from the dogs perspective.

Ann Rose Madden

on Facebook

07.30.18

Sonja was great to work with training our lab!!! She has an amazing established program, but will train according to what you want to get out of your dog for your particular household. Highly recommend!

Todd Jones

on Google

07.03.18

Sonja is amazing. We adopted a 4 month old Akita, and hired Sonja to help her learn how to be part of the family. Her guidance and instruction was invaluable, we are very thank to have found her. I would highly recommend Sonja and her expertise to anyone who has a new pup or a pup who needs a refresher. Not only is Sonja an awesome dog trained but also an awesome person. She consistently goes above and beyond to make sure that you and your pets have a great experience.

Response from the owner

over 4 years ago

Hope that everything is going well in NYC. Thanks

Gail Phillips

on Google

06.08.18

Sonja McBerry has an excellent reputation, having been recommended to me by many people who have had great experiences with her! Sonja helped us with both basic obedience and changing some problem behaviors that our one-year-old puppy had developed. Sonja is a master of her craft of dog-training which she developed through years of experience and education. Throughout our work with Sonja, she was readily available if we had any concerns or questions, and she continues to be available should concerns arise. She is professional, reliable, respectful, and an excellent teacher. Sonja transformed our problem puppy into a delightful and well-behaved dog! No more chewing on inappropriate items, no more leash-pulling, no more jumping up on us or our guests! Thanks to Sonja, we can thoroughly enjoy our dog - without worries! I highly recommend Sonja McBerry of Dog Smart Atlanta!

Response from the owner

over 4 years ago

Thanks, keep up the good work.

TrueReview for your business

Are you a small business owner? Generate more 5-star reviews with TrueReview.